The Three

The Three / Valleys

Les Trois Vallées (The Three Valleys) is a ski region in the Tarentaise Valley, Savoie département of France, to the south of the town of Moûtiers, partly in the Vanoise National Park

Since 1973, it has been possible to ski the interlinked valleys using a single ski pass. Thus, Les Trois Vallées is the largest ski area in the world which is connected solely by ski lifts and slopes.

It has more than 600 km (370 mi) of ski slopes, resulting in 18.5 km² of groomed runs. In addition, there are 120 km for cross-country skiing. Les Trois Vallées has 183 ski lifts, which can transport 260,000 skiers per hour. Other equipment owned by the operating companies include 1,920 snow cannons and 76 piste bashers. Employees in the area include 424 ski patrollers and 1,500 ski instructors.

As implied by its name, the area originally consisted of three valleys: Saint-Bon, Allues, and Belleville. The skiing area has since been extended into a 'fourth' valley, the Maurienne valley. It is adjacent to Val Thorens, but can also be accessed using a long gondola lift from Orelle.



The main ski resorts in the Three Valleys:

ValleyResortEstablishedSki Range (M)
Saint-BonCourchevel19461,300 - 2,738
Saint-Bonla Tania19901,400 - 2,305
AlluesMeribel19391,400 - 2,305
AlluesBrides-les-Bains1992   600 - 1,450
BellevilleVal Thorens19722,300 - 3,200
BellevilleLes Menuires19641,850 - 2,850
BellevilleSt-Martin-de-Belleville19831,400 - 2,434
MaurienneOrelle1996   900 - 3,230




See more Webcams here

Get in Touch



T: +44 7734 527673